Answered By: Timothy Grasso
Last Updated: Aug 08, 2019     Views: 112

It is an alpha-numeric library classification system developed by the Library of Congress that establishes the order of books on the shelf by subject heading (topic). Most academic libraries in United States use this numbering system. Most public libraries use the Dewey Decimal system. An updated list of the major Library of Congress (LC) classification headings and subheadings can be found on Library of Congress website (Cataloging and Distribution Service).

In our library, books classified A-BT are located in Basement A; books classified BV- ZZ are in Basement B.

Library of Congress Classification Outline

A - General works, encyclopedias, indexes, almanacs

B - Philosophy (General)

BC - Logic

BD - Speculative philosophy

BF - Psychology

BH - Aesthetics

BJ - Ethics

BL - General religion, mythology; Hinduism

BM - Judaism (Dead Sea scrolls) (see also DS)

BP - Islam (see also DS); Bahaism, Theosophy, etc.

BQ - Buddhism

BR - General Christianity; Church history

BS - Bible

BS - 700 - 1899 Hebrew Bible/Old Testament

BS - 1900 - 2900 New Testament

BT - Theology and Christian doctrine

BV - Christian practical theology (liturgy, missions, Christian education, preaching)

BX - Orthodoxy, Roman Catholic Church, Protestantism, Practical Christianity, Christian Education, Missions

C-F - General biography, history, archeology (DS - Middle East)

G - Geography, anthropology, folklore

H - Social sciences (economics, sociology, etc.)

J‐K - Political science, law

L - Education

M - Music

N - Art

P - Languages (PA Greek & Latin; PJ Semitic languages)

Z - Books, manuscripts, libraries, bibliography

ZZ - Fuller Seminary THM theses, DMIN projects, and PHD Dissertations